Spanish Japanese Chinese

Hungarian Students Visit New Brunswick via Sister Cities Program

City Hall hosted special international visitors on May 31, as a group of middle school students from Venkerti Primary School in Debrecen, Hungary came to meet Mayor Cahill and learn more about local government.


Mayor Cahill exchanges gifts with students from the City of Debrecen in Hungary during a visit to New Brunswick City Hall on May 31.

The five students, three teachers and one parent from Debrecen were accompanied by their peers from Woodrow Wilson Elementary School, which is “twinned” with Venkerti Primary School through the City of New Brunswick’s Sister Cities program.

Sister Cities is an international organization that joins communities around the world for the purpose of sharing ideas and culture and cultivating friendships so that we can best learn and grow from each other. New Brunswick has four Sister Cities: Debrecen; Limerick County, Ireland; and Fukui and Tsuruoka in Japan.

For more information on New Brunswick Sister Cities Association, please click here.